Epic Cape 2010 Just Days Away

The Absa Cape Epic will start this Sunday and South Africa’s landscape will be dotted with most of the world’s best cross-country mountain bike racers. This year’s route will have a new design. Each contestant must finish all seven stages and the time trial.

The 722km race will be for eight days where almost 1,200 athletes will be riding through South Africa’s Western Cape. A climb of almost 48,000 feet will be part of the challenge for the 600 two-man team.

The Cape Epic is the sole race that will take place in 2010 which has the classification of hors categorie or HC by UCI. Because of this and the UCI points the winners can garner from the event, Cape Epic attracted two-time Absa Cape Epic winner Stefan Sahm,three-time Absa Cape Epic winner Karl Platt, Olympic silver medalist Jose Hermida, Olympic gold medalist Bart Brentjens, 2008 World Cross Country Champion Christoph Sauser and World Cross-Country Champ Nino Schurter.

South Africa will be represented by formidable athletes like Burry Stander, David George, and Kevin Evans. To note, Stander was the 2009 U23 UCI World Champion.

Other cyclists like Alban Lakata, Mannie Heymans and the Flückiger brothers will be there to try and remake their win in 2009 on the final stage of the race.

Cape Epic has four categories in the two-person team race, namely Mixed, Mens, Ladis and Masters (cyclists must be 40 years or older).